## **OYSTER**

# (Organisation of yester year students of Rajagiri College of Social Sciences)

# **Annual Report 2015-16**

The year 2015-16 was a fruitful year for OYSTER as well as for Rajagiri College of Social Sciences as the college is celebrating 60 years of existence.

### **OYSTER** activities for the period:

# OYSTER Home Coming Day Jan 26th 2015

OYSTER Day 2015 was conducted in Rajagiri Valley Campus, Kakkanad on 26th January from 10am to 2pm. The registration started by 10am and a total of 84 members registered for the event. The formal event started with Rajagiri Anthem followed with one minute silence in honour of all the departed alumni members . Dr.Joseph I Injodey PhD, Principal, Rajagiri College welcomed the gathering. He thanked all the alumni members who have contributed to the alma mater and made the institution proud. The institution could achieve the autonomous status in the year 2014. He wished the alumni members to continue their efforts. The annual activity report of OYSTER for the year 2014-15 was presented by Mr.Kiran Thampi, Secretary, OYSTER. The highlights were the OYSTER Home coming day 2014, One day workshop on "Employment Laws in the IT Sector: Myth & Reality", Alumni Involvement in Syllabus Revision, participation in UGC expert committee visit for granting the Autonomous status, OYSTER contribution for best students in various departments etc. The cultural programmes presented by students from different batches enthralled the audience. The duet song, Republic Day Special Programme, contemporary dance and Tamil song were appreciated by the audience. Honouring Golden Jubilee batch(1965) and DSS,MA-PM & IR,MSW silver Jubilee batches(1990) were held. The accounts of the OYSTER for the year 2014-15 was presented and approved by the General body. Election for the new OYSTER Executive body was held and new members were elected. Photo Session was held and followed by Lunch at the college mess hall.

### **Executive Committee Meetings**

2 Executive committee meeting and 1 special meeting were held during the period

# **Updation of the Alumni directory**

Regular updation of the Alumni Directory is on with the available data

### **Alumni participation in the conferences and seminars**

Alumni members had meaningful contribution to the institution as Resource persons and linkages for other resources during conferences and seminars organized by the various departments in the college. Special thanks to the Florida Alumni chapter, Bangalore chapter and New York Chapter for supporting the National Students meet organized by Dept of Social Work.

#### Alumni visit to Rajagiri

Alumni visiting Rajagiri had interactive sessions with faculty members and students. They enlightened the students by sharing their experiences and motivated them with the opportunities they have for a good career.

## **Alumni Involvement in Syllabus Revision**

The various departments in the college are having Alumni members as board of studies members. The board meets and takes decision on syllabus updating, new courses to be introduced and the teaching learning process.

#### **Best Outgoing student in MSW Programme**

An award for Best Outgoing student in MSW Programme was initiated by 1984-86 MSW Batch in memory of Shri Roy & late Shri Chacko in connection with their Silver Jubilee Year.

### **Chapter meetings**

Bangalore Chapter meeting was held on 31<sup>st</sup> October 2015.50 members participated in the meeting. Mr. E.A.Salim was the chief Coordinator for the event (MA PM&IR 1993 batch).

Dr. Binoy Joseph- Principal,Dr. Mary Venus Joseph- Dean and Administrator,Dr Sr. Lizy-Head, Dept of Social Work ,Dr. Joji Alex- Head, Dept of Business Administration, Prof. Shiju- Dept of Computer Science , Prof.Kiran Thampi- Faculty Social work, Sec. OYSTER participated in the meeting.

Official Bangalore Chapter formation was done and the following were unanimously elected as Office bearers of the Bangalore Chapter until the next elections

E.A.Salim - MA (PM & IR) 1993 - President
C. M.Regilnadh- BLiSc 2008 - Secretary
Sijil P Joseph- MSW 2009 - Jt. Secretary

And the following as Council members:

Sharath. S- PGDM-2014 Arjun. R-MBA 2013 Ajeev- MCA 2006 Priya Thomas- MSW 2004 Renu Ann Thomas- MRHM 2014

Dinner followed and session wounded up.



















## **Acknowledgements**

We wish to place on record the names of those individuals who have given us considerable support and assistance, and have extended invaluable guidance and goodwill to OYSTER during the year 2015.

- Fr.Cletus Plackal CMI, Provincial & Manager of S H Province, Kalamassery
- Rev Fr Jose Alex CMI, Director, Rajagiri Institutions
- Bishop Antony Kariyil CMI, Former Director, Rajagiri College of Social Sciences
- Dr.Joseph I Injodey, Executive Director, Rajagiri Institutions
- Dr Binoy Joseph, Principal
- Dr.Mary Venus Joseph, Dean & Administrator
- Mr. Venugopal K and all the executive members
- Fr.Saju M D,Finance Officer
- All the alumni members for their continued support and cooperation
- The entire department heads, faculty members and the live lab staff members.